Paddling on the West Coast

WestCoast1

A couple of years ago I had the opportunity to do some paddling off Vancouver Island. The trip was a family visit and I had held little hope that I would have an opportunity to venture out in a kayak. As it turned out, on this visit we decided to take a trip to the Gulf Islands.

The Gulf Islands were a new experience for me, I had seen them on many occasions from the deck of the B.C Ferry traveling between Tsawwassen and Swartz Bay, through the Gulf Island channel known as Active Pass.

On this occasion, we boarded a ferry from Swartz Bay with a destination to Mayne Island. I noticed the roof racks of almost every vehicle showed off at least one or more kayaks. I jealously stared at them from the deck above, imagining the paddling they must be planning to do.

WestCoast6

We reached Mayne Island and found our way to the cabin we had reserved. That night over dinner at a nearby restaurant, I inquired about the kayak rentals to our host and discovered there was a small kayak rental company not far from our cabin.

WestCoast2

From a bay close to our cottage, I rented a kayak, was given a map, and told I could easily paddle to the next Island “Saturna” and back within a few hours. I could not have picked a better day for a West Coast paddle. The day was sunny, clear, no wind and calm waters. Perfect paddling conditions.

WestCoast3

Small crops of rocks protruded above the low tide line, allowing seals to sun themselves. As I approached, the seals would silently slip back into the water. Moments later, I would see or hear a splash, as these animals curiously swam around me.

It was a wonderful, organic moment, drifting alone between land masses, looking up and seeing the mountains of the Vancouver mainland and looking down and catching seals swimming around me.

I am grateful I had that opportunity, I look forward to returning to the west coast and exploring it further. Storm watching in Toffino is high on my list.

WestCoast5
Cheers.

Comments

  1. What a great trip! You were very descriptive in your post…I felt like I was there as well. The links to the various places were helpful as I’m not too familiar with the area either.

  2. BC is one of the places on my bucket list. The one draw back is the flights there have been so expensive during summer. Your post makes me want to plan that trip sooner!

Leave a Reply

the amygdala scribbles

creative writing

The Scholarly Slut

Objectified, Therefore I Am!

Cierra Jae

Smiling wrinkles are the best kind to have!

watching me watching you

Tantriclens blog. Exploring the world of photography and sexual expression

WVU IMC Student Blog

The student blog is written by current WVU IMC students and details their IMC graduate experience

Bruce Trail Beauties End to End Hike

Hiking the Bruce Trail from Queenston to Tobermory

P A T H Finds

Discovering Toronto's underground city

Everyday Adventures

Our everyday adventures

Murder in Common

A blog for those passionate about homicide but don’t actually commit it.

Kayaking 101 and other Gorgeous Paddles

Kayaking Pacific Northwest waters and the Columbia River Gorge and the learning along the way.

puncta lucis

points of light in particular arrangements

poniespreferblondes

Ya que estamos en el baile, bailemos.

Rob Moses Photography

This Camera Life

Managing stress- coping methods

Some insights into how I deal with stress

bsocialjournal

Social networking through volunteering

Sunshine and Ski Slopes

dreaming of winter mornings

Integrated candour

Thought-provoking content from the digital side

labuhrows.com

poetry | prose | photos

politypus

politics, culture and city building

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

